Our history

David Boger
Professor David Boger (Chair)

The Particulate Fluids Processing Centre, a Special Research Centre of the Australian Research Council, began formally on 1 January 2000. The Centre continues a long standing collaboration across the interfacial science and engineering groups of the School of Chemistry, Department of Chemical Engineering and the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, at The University of Melbourne.

In 1991 the Advanced Minerals Products Centre (AMPC) was established through a collaboration led by Professor Tom Healy (Physical Chemistry), Professor David Boger (Chemical Engineering) and Professor Lee White (Applied Mathematics). The AMPC was funded by the Australian Research Council’s Special Research Centre scheme with Professor Tom Healy its Director. In 2000, Professor David Boger became the Director of the renewed Special Research Centre, the Particulate Fluids Processing Centre (PFPC).

The role of Director was accepted by Professor Geoff Stevens, a Professor of Chemical Engineering, from 1 January 2005. Professor Derek Chan (Mathematics) and Professor Franz Grieser (Chemistry) joined him as the Deputy Directors of the Centre. From 2015 the Centre will further evolve under the Directorship of Professor Peter Scales.

Mission statement

To perform basic science in nano and colloid chemistry and interfacial continuum mechanics all set within a process engineering framework

Strategic objective

Development in Australia of scientific and engineering expertise and personnel that will ensure that value added advanced particulate fluid products are produced from Australian resources.

The multidisciplinary approach to our research across chemistry, chemical engineering and applied mathematics is central to all our research.